Post by tortoise2 on Nov 1, 2016 8:33:08 GMT -5
Nevada DMV Moped Registration Form
Nevada DMV Motorcycle Declaration Form
LAS VEGAS – Moped owners in Nevada will have to get a moped license plate and pay one-time registration fees under Senate Bill 404 (SB 404), which was passed in the 2015 Nevada Legislature as a measure to combat moped theft.
The DMV will begin moped registration November 1. Law enforcement can begin issuing citations to unregistered mopeds on January 1.
Because SB 404 is an anti-theft measure, other laws on mopeds have not changed. A driver’s license of any class is required to ride on public streets. Mopeds will remain exempt from insurance and helmet laws.
“Moped registration is meant to help owners protect their property,” said State Senator Mo Denis, (D) Clark, one of SB 404’s primary sponsors.
Currently, law enforcement has no easy way to determine whether a moped is stolen or to notify the owner of an impounded vehicle. Owners, when they are located, often have no proof of ownership. Moped registration will also enhance public safety by ensuring riders are licensed drivers and that motorcycles are registered and insured.
“Moped theft has been a difficult problem,” said Officer Chuck Callaway of the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department. “Registration will help in both locating owners and prosecuting offenders.”
Moped owners will have to bring their vehicles into the DMV for an inspection to determine whether the vehicle is actually a moped and to establish the vehicle identification number. In rural counties where there is no DMV office, a sheriff or deputy sheriff can complete the inspection. However, the vehicle must still be registered in-person at a DMV location.
“Make an appointment to register your moped,” said DMV Director Terri Albertson. “This will get you through the process as quickly as possible and help us keep the impact on our offices to a minimum.” Appointments are available in Las Vegas, Reno and Carson City through the DMV website.
Registration fees for a typical moped will total approximately $60. This includes a $33 registration fee, one year of Governmental Services Taxes based on vehicle value, license plate fees and miscellaneous charges. Tax exemptions and fee credits can be applied. An additional title fee will apply if a title is issued.
Mopeds will be registered much like any other vehicle, but the registration will remain valid as long as the owner retains the vehicle. There is no annual renewal.
Mopeds are issued a distinctive moped license plate. The DMV will issue a title if the owner can meet the requirements for a title. Otherwise, the owner will receive a registration only.
If the vehicle is determined to be a motorcycle, either through the DMV inspection or a citation from law enforcement, the owner will have to register and ride it as a motorcycle with annual registration, insurance, helmet use and Class M license.
Under Nevada law, “Moped” means a motor-driven scooter, motor-driven cycle or similar vehicle that is propelled by a small engine which produces not more than 2 gross brake horsepower, has a displacement of not more than 50 cubic centimeters or produces not more than 1500 watts final output, and is capable of a maximum speed of not more than 30 miles per hour on a flat surface with not more than 1 percent grade in any direction when the motor is engaged.
Senate Bill 404 additionally requires any business that sells, leases or rents mopeds to obtain a DMV business license.